Next stop: Connecticut

A 23h flight later I find myself in Connecticut, New England, where it is still very early spring and spoilt as I am by the Aussie sun I find it quite chilly but nevertheless beautiful – I am a huge fan of the New English building style and thanks to the abundance of antique and vintage shops the houses here are often as beautiful on the outside as on the inside, as the Inn at Stoney Creek shows. This is where I spent my first night in the States, thanks to my lovely sister in law. What a great way to start this part of my trip!

Apart from that I’ve had a few interesting culinary experiences this last week, starting with dinner at Outback, an Aussie restaurant…but how Aussie is a place that only sells Fosters as Aussie beer and has precisely 1 lamb dish on the menu? I guess I’ve been spoilt during the last 8 months there. Old Heidelberg, a German place, was much more enjoyable – maybe I needed to feel like home a bit too, and the rustic interior and German Schlager music was a great backdrop for a nice dinner complete with pretty decent beer.

My mission for the next week will be to browse through as many vintage shops as possible – and I’ll definitely have another tea time at Tracy’s, a very cute tea room in Seymour, my current dwelling place.

3 thoughts on “Next stop: Connecticut

  1. It looks wonderful ❤ How long are you gonna stay in the States?
    Outback is good, just not Aussie. Olive Garden is also good, just not Italian 🙂 Enjoy your trip and say hi to the States for me!

Leave a comment